top of page

Shining


Once upon a time,

I lost you trying to find my way

somewhere in the enchanted forest, you slipped away from me.

I couldn't see you over the 13 foot grass walls,

but I could still see your light. Shining.

And like a moth, I am drawn in naturally.

Entangled in endless confusion, I call out desperately,

a cry never answered, only questioned.

Summer clocked in and I clocked out.

Desperate to be the light that got away.

I drowned out the sorrow with herbs and fellow wanderers.

It only helped a little but under the surface I was burning.

Passion traded places with misery

and I wondered if I would ever see you again.

California rained for the first time in months.

Mother Earth mocked me with my own reflection.

The omega had never been so here. So now.

Days passed and I waited for the world to end.

A voyageur on your train of thought,

I arrived promptly on a Friday +

When the only thing constant was change.

Your sweet words poured into my ear,

intrigued, I swallowed my pride with ease.

No chaser could have erased the pungent taste of renewal.

I was born again.

bottom of page